Technical co-sponsors

Keynote Speakers

Prof.(Dr.) Ved Prakash Sandlas

Prof. Ved Prakash Sandlas retired from regular Govt. service in Feb 2005 after working in ISRO (1967-1986) and DRDO (1986-2005) in the areas of Electronics & Communications, Satellite Launch Vehicles and R&D Management. Subsequently (during 2008-13) he functioned as the founder Director General, Amity Institute of Space Science and Technology, and Amity Institute of Aerospace Engineering, Noida. He was designated Distinguished Scientist and appointed as Chief Controller R & D, DRDO during 1996-2005. As Director, Defence Electronics Applications Laboratory (DEAL), Dehradun (1986-96) he was responsible for the introduction of satellite communication era in the defence services. Earlier, he worked at the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Trivandrum and grew up to become Group Director, Electronics (1984-86) and, Mission Director/Project Director SLV-3 (1980-84), and was responsible for the two successful launchings of SLV-3 and Rohini Satellites on May 31, 1981 and April 17, 1983. He has been awarded DRDO’s ‘Scientist of the Year’ award (1988), FIE Foundation National Award (1998) for Science & Technology, and IIT Kharagpur Distinguished Alumnus Award (2012). He has extensively lectured and published on Project Management, Satellite Launch Vehicle Systems, R&D Management, Electronics, Communication Systems, Amateur Radio, EMI/EMC, Electromagnetic Radiation Hazards, Defence Space Systems and Cyber Security.




Prof. (Dr.) Laxmidhar Behera, IIT Kanpur

Prof. Laxmidhar Behera received B.Sc. (Engg) from Regional Engineering College, Rourkela in 1988, M.Sc. (Engg) from Regional Engineering College, Rourkela in 1990, Ph.D from Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India in 1996, and Post-doctoral studies from German National Center For Information Technology, GMD, Germany. He worked with many national/international reputed organizations like REC, BITS Pilani, Fraunhofer Institute of Autonomous Intelligent Systems, Germany, IIT Kanpur, University of Ulster, UK, ETH Zurich etc. At present he is working as Professor in the Dept. of Electrical Engineering, IIT Kanpur. His research area includes Machine Learning, Intelligent Control, Cognitive Modeling and Brain Theory, Bayesian networks, Intelligent Robotics etc.

Personal Profile




Prof. (Dr.) Satyabrata Jit, IIT BHU

Prof. Satyabrata Jit received B.E in Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering from University of Calcutta in 1993, M.Tech in Communication Systems from IIT Kanpur in 1995 and PhD from IT-BHU in 2002. He joined the Indian Institute of Technology BHU as a lecturer in 1998. He is the recipient of various awards/fellowships like BOYSCAST fellowship, Postdoctoral fellowship at Georgia State University, Atlanta, USA, INSA-visiting fellowship etc. Presently he is working as Professor and Head, Department of Electronics Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, BHU, Varanasi, India. His research area includes Advanced CMOS Devices, ZnO Thin Film Based Nanoelectronic Devices for Electronic, Gas Sensing and Optoelectronic Applications, Signal Processing and Communication Systems.




Prof. (Dr.) Shankar Prakriya, IIT Delhi

Prof. Shankar Prakriya received B.E (Hons.) in Electronics and Communications Engineering (Regional Engineering College Tiruchirapalli) from Bhartidasan University in 1987.  He worked for the Indian Space Research Organization briefly. He received the M.A.Sc (Engg.) and PhD from the department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada in 1993 and 1997 respectively. He joined the Indian Institute of Technology Delhi as a lecturer in 1997, where he is currently serving as the Jai Gupta Chair Professor. He is an associate editor of the EURASIP Journal on Advances in Signal Processing.  His research area includes Cognitive radio, Energy harvesting, cooperative systems, Interference Channels.




Prof.(Dr.) S. S. Pathak, IIT Kharagpur

Prof. S.S.Pathak received his B.Tech and M.Tech degrees in Electronics Engineering from I.T.B.H.U. is 1976 and 1978 respectively. He got his Ph.D degree on Digital Communications awarded in 1984 from I.I.T.Delhi. He has to his credit around 20 Journal publications and about 80 publications in conference proceedings. His area of research interest includes error control coding, Telecommunication switching networks, Wireless networks, Spectral efficiency of transmitted signals, and computer communication networks. He joined I.I.T. Kharagpur as a lecturer in 1985 where he is currently associated as Professor with the Department of Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineering.