Agenda for the Board of Studies Meeting in the departments of CSE and IT-28th May, 2015

Point No 1: Introduction of New Courses.

It is proposed to introduce the following new courses. The detailed course description is also enclosed.

To be included as electives for B Tech CSE/IT.

(a) Mobile Computing.

To be included as electives for M Tech CSE.

(a) Advanced Theory of Computation.

Point No 2: Modifications to the course.

It is proposed to update the course description of following courses. The detailed course description is also enclosed.

To be included as electives for M Tech CSE.

(a) System and Network Security.

Course Descriptions:

MOBILE COMPUTING

Course Coordinator:

Nishtha Ahuja

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Course Information

Credit: 3-0-0 (L-P-T)

Semester: Even, Session: Jul – Dec 2015

Class: B. Tech. (CSE), VII Semester

Total lectures: 42

Pre-requisites: Java Programming, Computer Networks, Operating Systems

Minutes of the meeting

2015 <u>Department of Computer Science & Engineering and Information</u> <u>Technology Engineering.</u>

Minutes of meeting of Board of Studies in IT Dept. held on 28th May, 2015 at 11:00 A.M. in the Board Room, Jaypee University of Information Technology, Waknaghat. The following members were present.

- 1. Prof Dr R.M.K. Sinha, Dean of CSE/IT Department, Head of IT Department (Chairperson)
- 2. Prof Dr. S.P. Ghrera, HOD CSE
- 3. Dr. Deepak Dahiya, Professor
- 4. Dr. Nitin, Associate Professor
- 5. Dr. Vivek Sehgal, Associate Professor
- 6. Dr. Yashwant Singh, Assistant Professor
- 7. Dr. Hem Raj Saini, Assistant Professor
- 8. Dr. Pradeep Kumar, Assistant Professor
- 9. Dr. Pooja Jain, Assistant Professor
- 10. Dr. Sakshi Babbar, Assistant Professor
- 11. Dr. Rajni Mohana, Assistant Professor
- 12. **Prof Dr. Manu Sood,** Director, University Institute of Information Technology, Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla.
- 13. Prof. Dr. Mayank Dave, NIT Kurukshetra
- 14. Nominees from the departments of Electronics & Communication Engineering, Civil Engineering, Bio Technology/Bio-Informatics, Mathematics and Physics.

RESOLUTIONS:

- 1. It was resolved to offer "Mobile Computing" as an elective course for B. Tech. CSE/IT.
- It was resolved to offer "Advanced Theory of Computation" as an elective course for M.Tech. (CSE).
- 3. It was resolved to update the course description and objective of the course "System and Network Security" for M. Tech. (CSE) as outlined.

4. Suggestion from the members:

i. It was suggested by Prof Manu Sood (external member) to make the course "Mobile Computing" a mandatory course along with the practical.

It was resolved in the meeting that in the upcoming semester (July-Dec, 2015), the course will be run as an elective. But in the future, the suggestion will be incorporated after getting the response of this course.

ii. It was suggested by Prof Mayank Dave (external member) to reduce some contents of the course "Advanced Theory of Computation", in accordance with the 42 lectures.

It was resolved that Mr Ravindra Bhatt will make the amendments to this course as per suggestion and the same be placed before CSE/IT faculty.

Amemo

(Dean, CSE/IT Dept)

MEMBERS OF BOARD OF STUDIES (2015)

Department of Computer Science & Engineering and Information Technology

1. Chairperson:

Prof R M K Sinha, (Dean CSE/IT Dept, HOD IT Dept)



2. Internal Members:

- i. Prof. S P Ghrera (HOD CSE Dept)
- ii. Prof Deepak Dahiya
- iii. Dr. Nitin Netter
- iv. Dr. Vivek Sehgal
- v. Dr. Yashwant Singh
- vi. Dr. Hemraj Saini
- vii. Dr. Pradeep Kumar
- viii. Dr. Pooja Jain
- ix. Dr. Sakshi Babbar Sahih
- x. Dr. Rajni Mohana

3. Nominees from the departments of ECE, BI/BT, CE, Mathematics, Physics, and CSE

- i. Prof Sunil Bhooshan, HOD, Deptt of ECE
- ii. Prof R S Chauhan, HOD, Deptt of BI/BT
- iii. Prof A K Gupta, HOD, Deptt of CE
- iv. Prof Harinder Singh, HOD, Deptt of Maths
- v. Prof P B Burman, HOD, Deptt of Physics \(\sum_{\omega}\).

4. External Experts:

- Prof Manu Sood, Director, UIIT, HP University i.
- ii. Prof Mayank Dave, NIT Kurukshetra

5. Representative from industry/corporate sector

Sh Prantik Thakur, Service Delivery Manager, CSC, Indore.

- 6. Postgraduate Meritorious Alumnus:
 - Mr. Rajkumar Tekchandani, Asst Prof, Thapar University, Patiala.

DEAN CSE & IT, HOD IT