# Composition of BOARD OF STUDIES: Dept of IT

Appendix-XVII to Para 11.1 of University Grants Commission, Performa for submission of information by state private universities, Norms and Standards, Information about the composition of the statutory bodies of the University in that the Board of Studies of the Department of IT at JUIT Waknaghat is composed as under.

S. No	Category	Nominatio	n	Name	Profession	Full Postal Address	Date of Constitution
	Head of the Department	Chairperson	1	Prof Dr R M K Sinha	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	
2		Members	2	Prof Dr Deepak Dahiya	Faculty		1-Jul-14
	Faculty Members at different levels covering different	INICITIOCIS	2	Dr Nitin	and the Problem had a second se	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
	specializations. At least five faculty members at different levels		1	Dr Vivek Sehgal	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
	coveries different events at different levels		5		Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
	covering different specializations, to be nominated by the Academic Council		6	Dr Yashwant Singh	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
			10	Dr Hem Rai Saini	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
			1/	Dr Pardeep Kumar	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
			8	Dr P K Gupta	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
			9	Dr Pooia Jain	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
				Dr Sakshi Babbar	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
			11	Dr Raini Mohana	Faculty	JUIT Waknaghat	1-Jul-14
	Subject Experts from outside the University nominated by Academic Council Two experts in the subject from outside the University, to be	Members	1	Prof Dr Manu Sood Dr. Mayank Dave	Professor	HP University Shimla	1-Jul-14
8			2	Dr. Mayank Dave	Professor	NIT Kurukshetra	1-Jul-14
	nominated by the Academic council		3	Prof Dr Shishir Kumar	Professor	JUET GUNA	1-Jul-14
	Poprocontative from inductor /						
	Representative from industry/corporate sector/ allied area relating	Members	1	Sh. Prantik Thakur			1-Jul-14
8	to placement nominated by Academic Council. One representative		-		Service delivery Manager at CSC		
	from industry/ corporate sector/ allied area relating to placement, to		-			CSC, Indore	
	be nominated by the Academic Council.				- Manager at ese		
		Members	1	Mr.Raikumar Tekchandani	Asst Prof	Thapar University	1-Jul-14
	postgraduate meritorious alumnus, to be nominated by the VC.						
	Co-opted members.The Chairperson, Board of Studies, May with the	Members	1	Prof Sunil Bhooshan	Professor & HOD	Deptt of ECE, JUIT	1-Jul-14
	approval of the VC, Co-opt as Members, Experts from outside the		2	Prof R S Chauhan	Professor & HOD	Deptt of BI/BT, JUIT	1-Jul-14
6	University/member of the same faculty, whenever special courses of			Prof A K Gupta	Professor & HOD	Deptt of CE, JUIT	1-Jul-14
	studies are to be formulated.		4	Prof Harinder Singh	Professor & HOD	Deptt of Maths, JUIT	1-Jul-14
	addres are to be formulated.			Prof P B Barman	Professor & HOD	Deptt of Physics, JUIT	1-Jul-14
	<b>t</b>			Prof S P Ghrera	Professor & HOD	Deptt of CSE, JUIT	1-Jul-14

Approved By:

Prof Dr S K Kak, Vice Chance

#### Agenda for the Board of Studies Meeting in the departments of CSE and IT- Oct 2014

Point No 1.: Transition from ICT to IT

The UG program in IT has been successfully running from 2002 to 2010 and the same has been accredited by NBA in 2009. From 2011 onwards it was decided to rename Information Technology to Information and Communication Technology (ICT) and accordingly the enrolments in 2011, 12 and 13 were in the ICT. Consequent to change from IT to ICT some changes were made in the curricula. It has now been found unviable to continue the program in ICT as this program does not exist in the UGC list. It is therefore proposed to reverse the decision and revert the programme title to IT instead of ICT.

The original approved IT curriculum is proposed to be continued for the batch 2014-18 onwards. For the batches 2011-2013 transition curricula is given below. In the transition curricula it is ensured that the course content of the original IT curricula is fully covered. It is therefore proposed to approve the following.

- (a) ICT be converted back to IT.
- (b) Original IT curricula be followed for the batch 2014-18 batch onwards.
- (c) Transition curricula as given hereunder be followed for the batches 2011-15, 2012-16, 2013-17.

Course Curricula IT 2014-18 Batch	1	
SEM-1		
Subjects	ch	cr
Presentation and Communication Skills	3	3
Mathematics-I	4	4
Physics-I	4	4
Introduction to Computers and Programming	4	4
Basic Electrical Circuits	4	4
Basic Electrical Circuits Lab	2	1
Physics Lab-I	2	1
Computer Programming Lab	4	2
Institutional Orientation	2	0
Total	29	23
SEM-2		
Subject	ch	cr
Subject Group and Cooperative Processes		3
Discrete Mathematics	4	4
Basic Electronics	4	4
Physics-II	4	4
Data Structures	4	4
Physics-II Lab	2	1

# Minutes of the meeting

### 2014 Department of Computer Science & Engineering and Information Technology Engineering.

Minutes of meeting of Board of Studies in Computer Science & Engineering Department, held on 17<sup>th</sup> March, 2014 at 11:00 A.M. in the Board Room, Jaypee University of Information Technology, Waknaghat. The following members were present:

- 1. Prof Dr S.P. Ghrera, HOD CSE Deptt (Chairperson)
- 2. Prof Dr R M K Sinha, HOD IT Deptt
- 3. Dr Deepak Dahiya, Professor
- 4. Dr Nitin, Associate Professor
- 5. Dr Vivek Sehgal, Associate Professor
- 6. Dr Yashwant Singh, Assistant Professor
- 7. Dr Hem Raj Saini, Assistant Professor
- 8. Dr Pradeep Kumar, Assistant Professor
- 9. Dr P. K. Gupta, Assistant Professor
- 10. Dr Pooja Jain, Assistant Professor
- 11. Dr Sakshi Babbar, Assistant Professor
- 12. Dr Rajni Mohana, Assistant Professor
- 13. Nominees from the departments of ECE, BT/BI, CE, Mathematics and Physics.

#### **RESOLUTIONS:**

- 1. It was resolved to revert the programme title to IT instead of ICT. The original IT curricula will be followed for the batch 2014-18 onwards, as per Appendix I. Transition curricula for the batches 2013-17, 2012-16 and 2011-15 will be followed as per Appendix II (a), II (b) and II (c), respectively.
- 2. It was resolved to revise the Course Descriptions, Course Objectives and Evaluation Plan for the undergraduate and postgraduate programme. The focus will be on the project based learning and objective/outcome based evaluation. The details of course descriptions and evaluation schemes are mentioned in a separate file.
- 3. It was resolved to offer a course "Natural Language Processing" for M. Tech. (CSE) as per Appendix III.

### JAYPEE UNIVERSITY OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, WAKNAGHAT

## MEMBERS OF BOARD OF STUDIES (2014) Department of Computer Science & Engineering and Information Technology

1

	Member's Name	Signature
Chairperson	Prof S P Ghrera, HOD, CSE	Mart
Internal Members		
	i. Prof Deepak Dahiya	Peerl
	ii. Dr Nitin	Nitin
	iii. Dr Vivek Sehgal	Wh Shi
	iv. Dr Yashwant Singh	28.7
	v. Dr Hemraj Saini	CHP
	vi. Dr Pradeep Kumar	Pardeep Kumert
	vii. Dr P.K. Gupta	Kennig
	viii. Dr Pooja Jain	her
	ix. Dr Sakshi Babbar	Saboly
	x. Dr Rajni Mohana	Lapi-
	om the departments of ECE, BI/BT, CE, , Physics and CSE	
	i. Prof Sunil Bhooshan, HOD, Deptt of ECE	All
	ii. Prof R S Chauhan, HOD, Deptt of BI/BT	M
	iii. Prof A K Gupta, HOD, Deptt of CE	X.
	iv. Prof Harinder Singh, HOD, Deptt of Maths	Hangh
	v. Prof P B Barman, HOD, Deptt of Physics	
	vi. Prof R M K Sinha, HOD, IT Deptt 4 Acom CSE&IT	JUKK

External Members			
	i. Prof Manu Sood, Director,	UIIT, H P University In A	bsentie
	ii. Prof Mayank Dave, NIT K	irukshetra In A	bsentie
	iii. Prof Shishir Kumar, JUET	Guna. In Al	senlie
	iv. Sh Prantik Thakur, Servic CSC, Indore	e Delivery Manager, In A	osentie
	v. Mr. Rajkumar Tekchanda University, Patiala	ni, Asst Prof, Thapar In A	bsculie

HOD CSE